Skills Challenge Certificate

What is the Skills Challenge Certificate?

The Skills Challenge Certificate is what makes the Welsh Baccalaureate so innovative. Each student will complete four challenges which develop their employability skills as well as allowing them to develop as ethical, informed citizens and become more creative contributors to their own learning. At Foundation and National levels, the SCC equates to a full GCSE! Each component of the Skills Challenge will incorporate a selection of skills which learners need for learning, work and life. These skills are outlined below:

  • Literacy

  • Numeracy

  • Digital Literacy

  • Critical Thinking and Problem Solving

  • Planning and Organisation

  • Creativity and Innovation

  • Personal Effectiveness

What is the Welsh Baccalaureate?

The central focus of the Welsh Baccalaureate at Key Stage 4 is to provide a vehicle for 14-16 year olds to consolidate and develop essential and employability skills. The qualification will help learners to prepare for their future by developing skills, attributes and behaviours valued by post-16 educators and potential employers.

To achieve the Welsh Baccalaureate, students must complete and obtain a C grade or higher in the following subjects:

∙ Maths or Maths-Numeracy

∙ English Language / Welsh Language

∙ Three further GCSEs (which can include 2 vocational qualifications)

Remember to check that your options fit with the options columns found here.